What is endometriosis?

Endometriosis is a common but still largely underestimated disease that affects about 10% of women of childbearing age. It is a benign and complex gynecological condition that can begin with the first menstrual period and its symptoms do not stop until the menopause.

It is a disease in which cells of the uterine mucous membrane "endometrium", implant themselves outside their usual place in the uterus, either in the myometrium (uterine muscle, we speak then ofadenomyosis) or out of the uterus (one speaks then about lesions or or endometriosis sites). These cells are endometriosis foci and are most often located in the lower abdomen (on the peritoneum, in the ovaries, intestine or bladder) or, more rarely, on other organs (diaphragm, pleura, lungs).

Like the endometrium, endometriosis foci react cyclically and bleed because they are under the hormonal influence of the menstrual cycle. For this reason they are referred to as hormone-dependent diseases. In contrast to the menstrual blood that flows into the vagina with each cycle, blood from endometriosis sites cannot flow outwards, so it accumulates in the abdominal cavity. The surrounding tissue also becomes inflamed. The irritated tissue then progresses to scarring, which can lead to adhesions. Following cyclic bleeding, the endometriosis sites migrate and are grafted onto the neighbouring organs (intestine, ureter, bladder).

Not only does endometriosis disrupt the physical well-beingbut it can also have consequences psychological, social and affect the relationship with the partner..

Endometriosis lesions can be of three types:

  • superficial and affect the peritoneum
  • adnexal and therefore touch the ovaries and tubes.
  • deep (beyond 5mm from the peritoneum) and infiltrate mainly the utero-sacral ligaments (which connect the uterus to the sacrum at the back, more frequent on the left), the rectum and the bladder.

Remember that there is no correlation between the intensity of the pain or the type of endometriosis and that superficial endometriosis can be very painful.

foyer_endo

What causes endometriosis?

The causes of endometriosis are multifactorial. Indeed, there are several theories to account for endometriosis. However, genetic factors and toxic substances in the environment predispose to its occurrence.

The "retrograde menstruation" theory (of regurgitation and implantation)

This is the most important theory. During menstruation, most of the blood usually flows from the uterine cavity into the vagina and out. However, in most women, some of the menstrual fluid also drains into the abdominal cavity up through the fallopian tubes. This blood contains viable endometrial cells. These cells then attach themselves to the surface of the organs of the pelvis and abdomen (peritoneum), and then grow under the effect of chronic inflammation and create endometriosis lesions. However, it should be noted that this tubal reflux is physiological (i.e. normal) in almost 90% of cases: endometrial cells that are transplanted elsewhere are usually destroyed by the immune system. Other factors are therefore necessary for the development of endometriotic disease, the main ones being: alteration of the immune system, genetic predispositions, endocrine disruptors.

Metastatic theory

The dissemination of endometrial cells by blood or lymphatic route, allows to account for very rare cases of localization of endometriosis outside the abdominal cavity (lungs, brain, bones etc).

Stem Cell Theory

It is based on the hypothesis of a neonatal menstrual reflux. These dormant endometrial stem cells, which implant and survive permanently, could explain the early onset of the disease in some patients.

Source : Nous remercions la clinique Mons Endométriose d’avoir mis à notre disposition ces informations médicales.

Qu’est-ce que l’endométriose ?

L’endométriose est une maladie fréquente, mais encore largement sous-estimée, qui touche environ 10% des femmes en âge de procréer. Il s’agit d’une affection gynécologique bénigne et complexe qui peut débuter dès les premières règles et ses symptômes ne cessent qu’à la ménopause.

Il s’agit d’une maladie au cours de laquelle des cellules semblables à  l’«endomètre », s’implantent en dehors de leur place habituelle dans l’utérus, soit dans le myomètre (muscle utérin, on parle alors d’adénomyose), soit hors de l’utérus (on parle alors de lésions ou de foyers d’endométriose).  Ces cellules constituent des foyers d’endométriose et se situent le plus souvent dans le bas ventre (sur le péritoine, dans les ovaires, l’intestin ou la vessie) ou, plus rarement, sur d’autres organes (diaphragme, plèvre, poumons).

Comme l’endomètre, les foyers d’endométriose réagissent de façon cyclique et saignent, car ils sont sous l’influence hormonale du cycle menstruel. On parle pour cette raison de maladie hormono-dépendante. Contrairement au sang menstruel qui s’écoule à chaque cycle vers le vagin, le sang issu des foyers d’endométriose ne peut pas s’écouler vers l’extérieur ; il s’accumule donc dans la cavité abdominale. Les tissus avoisinants subissent aussi une inflammation. Les tissus irrités évoluent ensuite vers la cicatrisation : ce qui peut provoquer des adhérences. Suite aux hémorragies cycliques, les foyers d’endométriose migrent et viennent se greffer sur les organes voisins (intestin, uretère, vessie).

Non seulement l’endométriose perturbe le bien-être physique, mais elle peut également avoir des conséquences psychologiques, sociales et affecter la relation avec le partenaire.

Les lésions d’endométriose peuvent être de trois types:

  • superficielles et affecter le péritoine
  • annexielle et donc toucher les ovaires et les trompes
  • profonde (au-delà de 5mm du péritoine) et infiltrer principalement les ligaments utéro-sacrés (qui rattachent l’utérus au sacrum en arrière, plus fréquente à gauche), le rectum et la vessie.

Rappelons qu’il n’y a aucune corrélation entre l’intensité de la douleur ou le type d’endométriose et qu’une endométriose superficielle peut être très douloureuse.

foyer_endo

Quelles sont les causes de l’endométriose ?

Les causes de l’endométriose sont multifactorielles. En effet, il existe plusieurs théories pour rendre compte de l’endométriose. Cependant, des facteurs génétiques et des substances toxiques de l’environnement prédisposent à son apparition.

La théorie « menstruation rétrograde » (de la régurgitation et de l’implantation)

C’est la théorie la plus importante. Pendant les règles, la majorité du sang s’écoule habituellement de la cavité utérine vers le vagin et s’évacue vers l’extérieur. Toutefois, chez la plupart des femmes, une partie du liquide menstruel s’écoule aussi dans la cavité abdominale en remontant par les trompes. Ce sang contient des cellules de l’endomètre viables. Ces cellules s’attachent ensuite à la surface des organes du pelvis et de l’abdomen (péritoine), puis se développent sous l’effet d’une inflammation chronique et créent des lésions d’endométriose. Précisons néanmoins que ce reflux tubaire est physiologique (c’est-à-dire normal) dans près de 90% des cas: les cellules endométriales qui sont transposées ailleurs sont usuellement détruites par le système immunitaire. D’autres facteurs sont donc nécessaires pour le développement de la maladie endométriosique, dont les principaux, sont : altération du système immunitaire, prédispositions génétiques, perturbateurs endocriniens.

La théorie métastatique

C’est-à-dire la dissémination des cellules de l’endomètre par voie sanguine ou lymphatique, permet de rendre compte de très rare cas de localisation de l’endométriose en dehors de la cavité abdominale (poumons, cerveau, os etc).

La théorie des cellules souches

Elle repose sur l’hypothèse d’un reflux menstruel néonatal. Ces cellules souches endométriales, dormantes, qui s’implantent et survivent durablement, pourraient expliquer la survenue précoce de la maladie chez certaines patientes.

Source : Nous remercions la clinique Mons Endométriose d’avoir mis à notre disposition ces informations médicales.